Morphe Sub Box: My Last Box and Why I Cancelled

 

lastmorphe3            I am sure many of you have already heard of the brand Morphe Brushes. Whether you know of the brand for their brushes or their infamous 350 eye shadow palette, you’ve seen them on some form of social media. I signed up for the Morphe Subscription box earlier this year so I think now is a good time to give my review on some of the brushes I received and the subscription service itself. I will be showing you guys my very last brushes I’ve received from the box and sharing why I decided to cancel my subscription. Keep on reading if you want to find out more!

lastmorphe2

For those of you unfamiliar with the Morphe Subscription box it is a subscription service that sends you at least $30 worth of brushes for $19.99USD every month. There is also free shipping to the US and Canada. Being a beauty blogger I thought this sub box would be perfect for me as I am always looking for new things to try out. I was in need of some new brushes and when I found I thought it was such a good deal that I couldn’t pass it up.

I made many posts and videos featuring these brushes both here and on my YouTube Channel. And I have to say I was really happy with the brushes I received. Morphe has so many brushes to choose from and having them send a curated box to me every month was such a treat. I really enjoyed the subscription box during the first couple of months because I received a variety of brushes to add to my collection including face brushes, powder brushes and eye brushes.

After 6 months or so, as I received more and more brushes, I found that the variety of the brushes didn’t really change that much. I was always a firm believer that you can never have too many blending brushes but when you have maybe 1 or 2 in each box every month they begin to add up. I completely understand that blending brushes are a necessity and there were some eye brushes from Morphe that I received that were not blending brushes but regardless of their name and number they don’t make a very big difference in blending efficiency. Can a girl get a brush for packing on pigment in here? A liner brush, maybe?

I also found the same thing with highlight brushes. I know everyone is in a highlighting craze right now but in my personal opinion I think a greater variety would be better for these subscription boxes. Mix things up a little?

The last sub box I received contained 3 exclusive black gunmetal brushes including the LGM1: Flat Contour, LGM2: Small Pointed Powder and the LGM3: Tapered Blending Fluff. These are all beautiful brushes with really nice synthetic bristles. This set was in collaboration with/for Breast Cancer Awareness month. I am happy that I received this box before I ended my subscription as the brushes are wonderful and for a good cause.

lastmorphe4

I have fallen in love with some of these brushes including the Morphe E4 and M508 and overall I think the price point is pretty reasonable. I enjoy the overall quality of these brushes and I think the gunmetal and elite collection could be my favourite from the brand. If I had to choose one brush brand to use exclusively for the rest of my life, however, it would still have to be Real Techniques for their overall quality of their brushes (weight/balance of the brush in your hand) and synthetic bristles that are easy to care for.

I generally think that if you are a beauty blogger or beauty enthusiast that you should at least try this subscription box. I also really recommend this box if you cannot get a hold of the brushes anywhere else or are having trouble choosing brushes to get. It is a great way to try out new brushes for a couple of months and when you think your collection is well rounded enough you can cancel. I am very happy with the brushes from this box and I currently like to keep a few in my daily makeup routine.

Hope you guys enjoyed this post and think it was helpful. If you want to see my whole Morphe Brush collection let me know in the comments below!

lastmorphe1

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Twitter / Tumblr / Facebook / Instagram / Youtube

Leave a Reply

