Some More September Favourites- Audiobooks!Marissa Meyer, Tahereh Mafi, Laini Taylor and Jenny Han

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

Some things do not make it into the final cut of my favourites videos. This post is all about those extras I didn’t make it into my September favourites but I still love dearly. These are this month’s audiobook favourites:

The Lunar Chronicles: Cinder, Scarlet and Cress by Marissa Meyer

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer Cinder: Amazon

Scarlet: Amazon

Cress: Amazon

           I was recently recommended this series by my sister and so far I have read/listened to the first three books in the series. I fell in love with the characters in this series. The story begins around a girl named Cinder who is a mechanic and cyborg. An epidemic is destroying the streets of New Beijing and it is up for the mechanic with the mysterious past to save the gorgeous Prince Kai and the rest of the world. This book is a spin on the classic Cinderella tale and I think it is interesting how Meyer was able to build from the classic fairy tale into something completely new. This series has a very steampunk influence to it and I really enjoyed listening to it. I’ve also listened to the next two books in this series, Scarlet (a spin on Red Riding hood) and Cress (Rapunzel). Out of the three I think I enjoyed Cress the best. All of these characters are perfectly described and portrayed by the narrator and you can really see the characters come to life. My favourite characters I’ve met in the 3 books so far are Cress, Scarlet and Iko, a personality salvaged by Cinder. Iko is a peppy little android that only wishes to be human. Whenever I think of her I think of her swooning over Prince Kai! Trust me, listen to her in audiobook form! Priceless!


Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

28110143

Furthermore: Amazon

Furthermore is a spin on the traditional Alice in Wonderland books. It is about a girl named Alice who lives in a world of colour. The more colour the better! Unfortunately for Alice, she was born without pigment, alienating her from the rest of her class and family. The 12 yearolds heart is crushed when her father suddenly disappears from Ferenwood but is desperate to find him. With her companion Oliver, she sets off to find her beloved father running into some troubles along the way. I enjoyed listening to the adventures in this novel and found it very entertaining. The writing in this book is very interesting as one would expect with a book inspired by the original Alice in Wonderland. There are many plays on words and it really kept me guessing. I would recommend this to younger readers. It is truly fantastical, Mafi did an amazing job. I am interested to see her other writing styles.


Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

dsb_final_6_1

Daughter of Smoke And Bone: Amazon 

Karou is an artist residing in Prague. She is prone to disappearing on a moments notice running mysterious ‘errands’ collecting and trading all over the world. Karou is magically involved in a world far greater than she knows and when she meets a beautiful stranger named Akiva, secrets of Karou’s past are unlocked. I really enjoyed listening to this book on audio because the characters are very well rounded and the person narrating did an amazing job. There are so mnay accents in this book and I think she pulled them all off. I enjoyed the plotline of the first half of the book but if you read some reviews you would know that the second half of the book completely halts the progress. I would have liked this book better if the plotline continued through to the end but I understand where the author went with this book. I don’t think I would pick up a physical copy to read but I suggest finding it on audio somewhere because, for me, that is what made the book. I love Karou’s character because she is snarky and impulsive but one of my favourite characters is Zuzana, her non-magical best friend. I find her comments laugh out loud funny so I am hoping to hear more from her in the next book!


To All the Boys I’d Loved Before by Jenny Han

516wcmsapcl-_sx332_bo1204203200_p-s-i-still-love-you-9781442426733_hr

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Amazon

P.S. I Still Love You: Amazon

The last two audiobooks from this month are re-reads (or re-listens?). I listen to both books in Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before series. I always go back to this series when I need a light contemporary read. It is about a girl named Lara Jean Song Covey who (in the first book) has all of her past love letters sent out to the boys she previously crushed on. Super embarrassing right? I fell in love with Lara Jean right away as as I continued reading, grew an extreme attachment to her. I felt in some way that she was a younger version of me. I love the idea of mixed race characters and I think the Covey’s are very relatable. I loved reading about the love triangles in this book and I am so pumped to read the next book when it comes out next year! Who else is excited????


I hope you enjoyed reading these super quick reviews of the audiobooks I’ve been loving last month. It would have been a very long video if I included it in my video. If you have any recommendations for more books and series please do let me know! Happy reading!

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Twitter / Tumblr / Facebook / Instagram / Youtube

Leave a Reply

