Review: Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown

morningstar

Before I started hoarding makeup, I spent my time with my nose in books. This is a book I’ve been eyeing for a very long time for multiple reasons. Here is my Red Rising Review.

Me before Red Rising: Oh, I haven’t read a Sci Fi book in a while maybe I will try this one! People on Mars sound interesting.
Me while reading Golden Son:    DAAAAAARRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWW
Me after Morning Star: 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

What you just read is basically the Sparknotes of my review. You don’t need to know much more than that but I will continue anyways.

                    

I’ve heard a lot about Red Rising by Pierce Brown all over the Internet. The hoopla might have been a result of the authors charming smile that has wooed all the reviewers minds senseless but I can confidently say after reading the whole of the Red Rising series, it is not all hype and hysteria. (Although Brown’s good looks do sweeten the deal! But let us put that aside for a bit)

Red Rising is the first book of the Sci Fi trilogy and is formed around a Red Helldiver named Darrow. Living in a color-coded society, the Reds are the labourers who are told to believe their work will eventually make the surface of Mars livable for future generations but the kicker is, Mars is already inhabitable and has been for generations.

Having realized the rest of humanity has been on Mars, Darrow realizes that Reds like him are blinded by the society of the ruling class. With Darrow’s longing for justice, the first book of the Red Rising trilogy begins with the infiltration of the Institute and for Darrow to rise amongst the High Colors who have wronged him.

To save you all for spoilers I will not be sharing the blurbs for the following books Golden Son and Morning Star but lets get into the review!

It is fair to say that I have not read much Sci Fi before this book but I found this series so intriguing even though I know nothing of the genre. This is the type of series where you need to set aside time in your day to read it because I could not step away. I really enjoyed the writing in this series because it was really fast paced and everything, even the smallest details, were carefully chosen and stripped of any dillydallying. Everything had its place and it definitely kept me on my toes. Within the first couple of chapters Red Rising I was already hooked on the idea of Mars and a society of colour. I almost shed a tear when the story had barely begun (for those of you who have read this you will know the bit).

The storyline of these three novels are something I’ve never read before. Everything was so fresh and new to me. It could be because I am not a space person as I never watched Star Wars etc. I am more of a Marvel superhero person and even then I barely know the basics. There were so many twists and turns and plots within plots that sometimes it was hard to keep track of but I got there in the end and enjoyed myself immensely! Everything was so intricately interweaved within these three novels that I can barely wrap my head around it, let alone create it! So props to Pierce and his editor because my mind was not ready for any of that!

This series is definitely action packed with some really amazing characters. I think each persona was done very well. I grew to love some many of them over the three novels and they have some pretty sick names. A girl named Mustang is bound to kick ass. And Sevro? Come on! I live for the Howlers. If only it was socially acceptable to howl in the night! I already have fur rug I can drape over my back, come on guys, let me in to the pack!

I can honestly say I was never in to books with a lot of politics but for some reason I really enjoyed this. I would highly recommend this series if you are looking for something new and fresh in the YA genre. The writing is definitely something to get used to but once you get into the world a little bit everything will go smoothly. I admit I catch myself saying “bloodydamn my goodman!” and “What’s what?” in my head on various occasions. It is kind of embarrassing.

Even though I thought I wouldn’t enjoy this series I was pleasantly surprised. I would have to say that Morning Star was the one that really tugged on some heart strings but Red Rising is second in line. I do feel that I need to reread the whole series again to see if I missed any good parts but that is something to look forward to.

Overall I think this is one of the best series I’ve read this summer so far! Really different and fresh from my usual tastes but very enjoyable! I am super stoked to hear that there will be another series in the works that I will be rushing out to get!

I hoped you enjoyed this different post among beauty and fashion but I needed to share some other loves in my life! Expect some more book related things in the future!

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Twitter / Tumblr / Facebook / Instagram / Youtube

Leave a Reply

