Products That Didn’t Tickle My Fancy

disappointingproducts1

When I try a new product I try my hardest to love it. I go through the pros and cons of each item and tell myself ‘Well maybe it is because it doesn’t work with x’ or ‘It is probably because of y’. Time and time again, I try these products with no avail. Sadly some things don’t turn out as good as I expect them to be. Here are some products that I think really lack luster *sad face *

I’ve been trying to ease myself into using this product for more than 6 months now and my face just isn’t having it. The Origins Frothy Face Wash is a miss for me. Every time I used this face wash my skin would retaliate within in hours. I don’t know if it is the ingredients that are irritating my skin but I am thankful that I got a travel size. Yes, it is frothy and leaves my skin squeaky clean (maybe too squeaky?) but I can never shake this tingling feeling on my face after I use it. The grassy/earthy scent isn’t as horrible as others I’ve tired but it isn’t that pleasant either. Maybe I am allergic to something in it but I never had a pleasant experience with it. I tired so hard to enjoy you but I will stick to Origins GinZing line instead.

I love Drew Berrymore, and I will support this wonderful human being in everything she does. I was however disappointed in a product from her drugstore makeup line Flower. The Glow Baby Glow Blush/Bronzer Duo didn’t make the cut for me for two reasons. Number 1: the bronzer shade range is orange. Too orange for me to handle, in fact. No matter where I put this bronzer I looked like a sweet potato. It might be my pale skin but all of the shades look to have a warm undertone that isn’t very flattering. Problem Number 2: Holy moly, the price tag! Most of the cost is going straight to the packaging and even though it is gorgeous and rose gold a drugstore compact should never be that much. I can easily find an Elf dupe for the Nars Duo for a fraction of the price. It is as simple as that. I was not happy with this product at all but hopefully Drew will redeem herself as I try more of her Flower range.
I was so excited about this last product and it really let me down. I made multiple remarks about how much I love Revlon lip products and alas, I have found one that I absolutely hate. The Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Iris. The reason why I resent this product so much is because of its smell. I am usually not too picky with scents but this lipstick smells so much like berry cough medicine that it is overwhelming. Maybe it is because I hated being sick as a kid and have horrible flashbacks but it even tastes like cough syrup, I mean really? Why? I thought these lipsticks would be similar to their lip butters and that they would be flying off the shelves! Although I love the colour, I cannot stand to wear it for 15 minutes. It also bothers me that the bullet doesn’t fully wind down the tube making me worry about slamming the cap down ruining the whole thing. This will be left to the bottom of my makeup stash sadly, come on Revlon, step up your game!

I think I will stop this rant now before my head explodes. I hope you all don’t think I am being a Debby Downer but I wanted to give my honest opinion without sugar coating anything. Next week will be a lot more fun, I promise!disappointingproducts2

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Twitter / Tumblr / Facebook / Instagram / Youtube

2 thoughts on “Products That Didn’t Tickle My Fancy

Leave a Reply

