My New Years Resolution?

Every year everyone who is anyone makes a New Years Resolution. Everyone, but me. Do not get me wrong! Resolutions are great! But it is only for certain people. I know I am definitely not the only person in the world that forgets the resolution two weeks later so why set my 2014 so high on the radar? In my personal opinion resolutions are great but many people set the bar too high for themselves that they are bound to fail.

Last New Years Eve I tried something new and extraordinary. I did not make a resolution. I made this decision because every year I would look back upon resolutions that are never completed and I feel somewhat wimpy for not getting things done. Great way to end the year, eh? But this year I believed I conquered more than I ever thought I could ever do. With no resolution to fulfill I did what seemed best at the time that led me here, today. Let me tell you a story, in December of last year my beloved sketchbook was stolen with all my schoolwork and projects inside. This was absolutely because I was such a dedicated art student that had everything organized, prepared and ready. I needed that sketchbook to apply to universities and I was honestly freaking out. I had nothing and if I had nothing, I did not have anything to continue with. After having multiple mental breakdowns about my future and the world all holiday I realized how secluded I was from the world. I still thought that everyone was nice and good people always win. This incident proved little me wrong. In a way I was lucky this happened during the start of the year. It woke me up from a dream. I worked harder than I ever thought I could work and succeeded. I did get into an Art based University that I am proud of and finally conquered my Physics and Calculus classes I was dying to overcome in high school.

With my first semester of University now completed and final marks slowly and gradually coming in I realized that this year I worked my butt off. Early in the year I remade everything in my sketchbook for University interviews. I filled it with new projects, old and some works in progress that I am extremely proud of. I worked through the first day of University and managed not to gain the freshman fifteen. In the short few months of class I learned more than I ever could about myself and art history haha. I learned that I love making lists and Starbucks isn’t a reliable dinner solution (have you seen those lines?). I learned my study habits, my solutions, and my love of that burn after you exercise real hard. I learned how to use Photoshop, how to study on public transit and who my real friends are.

But I think the one thing that I am most proud of doing this year is finding myself. To be honest I was scared shitless about courses and universities. I was basically choosing what I would be doing for the rest of my life. I now believe I chose the right path about going into design, but hey everyone is a skeptic. The truth is, I love what I am doing right now and I want to challenge myself to do bigger and nonconventional things. Hell, I made the best fucking chair out of single ply cardboard with no commercial fasteners or glue. And it could hold my weight and many others as well. There has to be something great about that right?

During the summer when I thought everything was done and I had my life sorted, I found, again, something that I love that was not related to schooling of any kind. This was how ARIEBEA was born. I always had a love for fashion, arts, music and beauty but I didn’t now how to express it until late this year. And so, here I am, a few days before the New Year, reliving every laugh, every cry, every mental breakdown and every pat on the back. And yes, I did all of this without a resolution or plan.

I could say I want to get fit this year or I want to get an official job or this blog to be seen all over the world or I want to do this or that. But I know I will make the best decisions I could possibly make even without a resolution. This year, I learned, I jumped, I broke, I fell, I got up and I tried again. 2014 will not be like the last year. That is a fact. It can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it but one thing I know about next year and every year after that is, I want to be who I am. I may change my hair, clothes, hell maybe even towns or friends but I will still definitely be the best me I can become. It must be in my Canadian blood that makes me want to do good for others and myself but I do not want the ‘Sketchbook Incident’ to happen to anyone else. I know I cannot save the world but I can try for Gods sake.

I said I did not have a New Years Resolution last year and will not have one for myself this year but would it count if I said my resolution would be for everyone else? I want to make people smile more in the New Year. We are not getting any younger and as the saying goes ‘A smile a day keeps the doctor away’ (I know, I changed the words but come on, give me a break it is the holidays). So this year, no resolution. I have actually finally decided to post this on the Internet so that next year on New Years Eve I can look back a read this again. I know I will have grown and changed etc. but I will be able to see who I was and if I continue this, I will record every year again and again like a diary. I will be posting everyday in the new year until I go back to classes so be sure to do all that fancy stuff and check out other social media sites for me down below. 2013 has been one hell of a ride for sure and I am ready for my next chapter to begin. Hang in there guys; you never know what is around the corner. It could be One Million Dollars! Haha, Stay with me you guys, you will not regret it. Trust me.

 

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Twitter / Tumblr / Facebook / Instagram

One thought on “My New Years Resolution?

Leave a Reply

