A Review: L’Oreal Caresse Shine Stain

The L’Oreal Caresse Shine Stain is not a new product in stores and L’Oreal products never really seem to catch my eye in the shops until this product was introduced to me. This Shine Stain is a lip gloss and lip stain love child (much like Revlon Colorburst Balm Stains, see review here). This product intrigued me when I read its description online. It states that the formula contains 30% water. Yes, WATER? What??? I didn’t even know that was possible! But it is true!

The shade I have is Coral Tattoo. Everyone knows I love bright, statement lips but this product gave me a sheerer look that I surprising love. The product is fairly wet consistency (from the 30% water thingy) and is slightly sticky when and after applying. The colour has great pigmentation for a sheer look and can be buildable. What I like about this product is my lips stay shiny for a very long time (6 hours!) and I do not need to reapply. It really looks like a lip gloss on my lips but without the hassle of having to reapply every two minutes. Of course being a gloss like product, I find that like every other gloss I have tried my hair sticks to my lips. It will be a wondrous day if someone created a lip gloss that my hair does not end up sticking to.

The product is generally not too hydrating but it won’t crack. I am however scared to touch my mouth area when I wear this because it is a gloss and can make a sticky mess all over me if I am not careful.

The packaging is beautiful of course the first thing that came to my mind when I got it was ‘It looks like a vibrator,’ but I maned up and tried the lip gloss. I heard a while ago that L’Oreal is owned by YSL and how most of their products are drugstore dupes! The case is very shiny and gold with a little band around the middle to showcase the colour inside. The applicator is a heart-like shaped doe foot. It picks up product in the middle of the applicator to allow easy application.

Overall, the  L’Oreal Caresse Shine Stain is a good product but I am not in love with it! Maybe in the future when my love for L’Oreal products grow I will come back to this product but for now it gets 3.5 stars

*live simply, love lightly, laugh loudly*

Leave a Reply

